ICC T20 World Cup 2024

The T20 World Cup 2024 is poised to be one of the most thrilling events in the cricketing calendar. With the fast-paced, electrifying format of T20 cricket, the tournament promises to deliver unforgettable moments and high-octane matches. This detailed guide will provide you with all the information you need about the T20 World Cup 2024, including the schedule, venues, teams, key players, and much more.

Overview of the T20 World Cup 2024

The ICC T20 World Cup 2024 will be the 9th edition of the tournament and is scheduled to be hosted by the West Indies and the United States. This is the first time the USA will co-host an ICC event, marking a significant milestone in cricket’s expansion into new markets. The tournament will feature the top T20 teams from around the world, all competing for the prestigious title.

Key Dates and Venues

The T20 World Cup 2024 will take place from June 8 to June 30. The matches will be held across various iconic venues in the West Indies and the USA, providing a mix of traditional cricketing grounds and modern stadiums.


  1. Florida, USA – Central Broward Regional Park
  2. Barbados – Kensington Oval
  3. Trinidad – Queen’s Park Oval
  4. Guyana – Providence Stadium
  5. Jamaica – Sabina Park

Tournament Format

The tournament will feature 20 teams, divided into four groups in the initial round. The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 12 stage, followed by the semi-finals and the grand final.

Group Stage

  • Group A: Top 4 ICC-ranked teams
  • Group B: Teams ranked 5-8
  • Group C: Teams ranked 9-12
  • Group D: Teams ranked 13-16

Super 12 Stage

The Super 12 stage will see the top two teams from each group of the initial round join the 8 directly qualified teams, making a total of 12 teams split into two groups. The top two teams from each group will proceed to the semi-finals.

Semi-Finals and Final

The semi-finals will determine the two teams that will compete in the grand final, scheduled to take place on June 30, 2024, at Central Broward Regional Park in Florida.

Teams to Watch


India, always a powerhouse in T20 cricket, will be led by their charismatic captain Virat Kohli. With a mix of experienced players like Rohit Sharma and emerging talents like Shubman Gill, India is a formidable opponent.


Australia’s aggressive and competitive style makes them one of the favorites. Key players include David Warner, Glenn Maxwell, and Pat Cummins.


As the defending champions, England will be keen to retain their title. With explosive players like Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, and Jofra Archer, they have a balanced and dangerous squad.

West Indies

Known for their flair and power-hitting capabilities, the West Indies will rely on stars like Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, and Kieron Pollard to make an impact.


Pakistan’s team, led by Babar Azam, combines experience with youthful exuberance. Players like Shaheen Afridi and Mohammad Rizwan are key to their success.

Key Players to Watch

Virat Kohli (India)

Kohli’s aggressive batting and ability to chase down totals make him a critical player for India. His experience and leadership will be vital.

Jos Buttler (England)

Buttler’s explosive batting at the top of the order can turn the game on its head. His wicket-keeping skills add further value to his role.

Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)

One of the best T20 bowlers, Rashid Khan’s leg-spin is a potent weapon. His ability to take wickets and control the game’s pace makes him indispensable for Afghanistan.

Babar Azam (Pakistan)

Babar Azam’s elegant batting style and consistent run-scoring ability make him one of the best T20 batsmen. He will be crucial to Pakistan’s fortunes.

Andre Russell (West Indies)

Russell’s power-hitting and all-round capabilities make him a match-winner. His presence in the West Indies squad adds tremendous value.

Full Schedule of the T20 World Cup 2024

Group Stage Matches

Group A:

  • June 8: India vs. Sri Lanka, Venue: Florida
  • June 9: Australia vs. Afghanistan, Venue: Barbados
  • June 10: England vs. South Africa, Venue: Trinidad
  • June 11: New Zealand vs. Bangladesh, Venue: Guyana

Group B:

  • June 12: Pakistan vs. West Indies, Venue: Jamaica
  • June 13: Afghanistan vs. Scotland, Venue: Florida
  • June 14: South Africa vs. Netherlands, Venue: Barbados
  • June 15: Bangladesh vs. Ireland, Venue: Trinidad

Super 12 Stage Matches

Group 1:

  • June 16: Winner Group A vs. Runner-up Group B, Venue: Florida
  • June 17: Winner Group B vs. Runner-up Group A, Venue: Barbados
  • June 18: Group A Winner vs. Group B Winner, Venue: Trinidad
  • June 19: Group A Runner-up vs. Group B Runner-up, Venue: Guyana

Group 2:

  • June 20: Winner Group C vs. Runner-up Group D, Venue: Jamaica
  • June 21: Winner Group D vs. Runner-up Group C, Venue: Florida
  • June 22: Group C Winner vs. Group D Winner, Venue: Barbados
  • June 23: Group C Runner-up vs. Group D Runner-up, Venue: Trinidad


  • June 24: 1st Semi-Final, Venue: Barbados
  • June 25: 2nd Semi-Final, Venue: Trinidad


  • June 30: Final, Venue: Florida

The T20 World Cup 2024 is set to be a spectacular event, showcasing the best of T20 cricket. With top teams and players competing in thrilling matches across beautiful venues in the West Indies and the USA, fans around the world can look forward to an unforgettable tournament. Keep an eye on the key players and teams as they battle it out for the coveted title. Whether you are a seasoned cricket enthusiast or new to the sport, the T20 World Cup 2024 promises excitement, drama, and world-class cricket action.

Back To Top